Season Preview: Indiana Pacers

I’ve never had a favorite NBA team, no true love to cheer for year after year. I once read that “favorite teams are for fascists” and I began to use that as my justification and it was certainly a fitting one as my well worn copy of the Communist Manifesto is rarely too far from my reach. Although, there is a certain emptiness that comes without the true love of a favorite team. That’s not to say I haven’t had a few minor flings here and there though.

I, along with every other basketball fan, loved Mike D’Antoni’s Pheonix Suns. I was also quite big on the Orlando Magic throughout their playoff run this year as their ball movement and Dwight Howard’s continued domination of the Cavaliers continually mesmerized me. Now, I’d say I’m hoping on the Thunder bandwagon, but I feel somewhat guilty now about all this due to my recent relocation. I moved to Anderson, Indiana within the past few months to attend college and in my longing, I begin to wonder if the Pacers are the team for me.

 

In Terry Pluto’s Loose Balls, he recalls the Pacers of the ABA even calling them the Boston Celtics of the ABA and they were a team I wish I could see today with Mel Daniels and Roger Brown leading the way as Slick Leonard patrols the sidelines. The Pacers of today are a different story. Danny Granger could possibly fill the role of Roger Brown, but no one thinks Tyler Hansbrough or Roy Hibbert is going to become an All Star or lead the league in rebounding as Daniels did nearly four decades ago.

Besides Granger, I’m not sure this team has any other legitimate threats to score, rebound, pass, or play ferocious defense. To me, they simply seem like a team that is simply without an identity at this point in time. They don’t seem to be a team that has the attitude of one that is rebuilding yet I’m sure they are also aware they are not the Magic, Celtics, or Cavaliers.

Although, they can’t be blamed for all of their shortcomings last year as injuries were most certainly prevalent. They do have their fair share of young stars, but are not plentiful enough or skilled enough just yet to be a young, dominant team. While Hibbert and Brandon Rush showed promise as rookies, no one’s going to confuse Hibbert for fellow Georgetown alumni Patrick Ewing and Brandon Rush is certainly not Brandon Roy. While the Pacers have a nice core of players, they will struggle to be more than an average team maybe reaching .500 and garnering a 7th or 8th seed in the Playoffs as a result.

Recap:

  1. Sacramento Kings
  2. Washington Wizards
  3. Los Angeles Clippers
  4. Oklahoma City Thunder
  5. Memphis Grizzlies
  6. Minnesota Timberwolves
  7. Golden State Warriors
  8. New York Knicks
  9. Toronto Raptors
  10. Milwaukee Bucks
  11. New Jersey Nets
  12. Charlotte Bobcats
  13. Indiana Pacers
2 Responses to Season Preview: Indiana Pacers

  1. […] UPDATE: Points in the Paint […]

Leave a Reply

